Technology and Business Law Blog

India has the most number of billionaires after the US

When I first came to the US in 1989 to pursue my master’s in law program, students at the university would ask me how come I had learnt to speak english so well after being in the US for only a month  or how did I go to school in India since India did not have any roads, or how is that I looked so healthy when people in India had nothing to eat and so on…

To the question about roads I would keep a straight face and reply answer nonchalantly “oh, I went on camels” (I hadn’t seen a live camel in India except in the zoo) and I would be thinking how come I know so much about the US and here I have come to do a master’s program and they are asking me “do you have roads?” how about “do you have schools and colleges?”

One of the main reason for this is because of the image that the media has been portraying till now in movies like “City of Joy” in which almost every Indian is either a leper or someone whose body part is missing and are all ready to die. In the Indiana Jones series all Indians are depicted as primitive savages who eat monkey brains and are waiting for this savior to come along and rescue them. I wonder where these film directors get their ridiculous ideas from about one of the most civilized nations in the world.

Now, fast forward a decade later and Forbes in a special report lists more billionaires in India than in any other Asian nation. According to Forbes only the US has more billionaires than India, which means that after the US, India has the most number of billionaires. Indians have made their mark in all fields and India has world class scientists, engineers, journalists, doctors  and the list goes on…

Morgan Stanley predicts 100 billionaires in India by 2009 in these diverse fields and there is more to it than what lies on the surface. Indian companies have been acquiring western corporations and negotiating major deals. Now all this and more to come is a far cry from from “me riding a camel to school.”

August 14, 2007 - Posted by | Billionaires in India

7 Comments »

  1. I moved to the U.S. from India when I was 9, but people asked me similar questions. ‘How do you know how to speak English so well?’, and some variants of the questions that you were asked.

    And a very nice article! When I read it, I felt a sense of deep pride for my country. Go India! But so much work yet to be done…

    Comment by thesush24 | August 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. Clap, clap, clap… so India has gotten more and more billionaires. Good for you. But I have a question: Has the number of poor people gone up or down? And are you proud of this situation?

    I am from Mexico and it seems that the richest man in the world today is a Mexican, Carlos Slim. That doesn’t make me proud knowing that there are over 60 million people in my country living below poverty line.

    Comment by Ricardo | February 4, 2008 | Reply

    • I agree with you to some extent because more number of billionnaires are not helping to eradicate poverty from India. People like you must understand some facts about India.

      India is having a significantly higher number of highly educated and qualified man power. Indian economy is growing so rapidly. In a few years we will definitely overtake USA. Indian are handling so much high positions in the field of Satellite technology, Medicine, Software development, Bio technology and Agriculture. Indian army is one of the best in the world. GDP wise we are holding the 11th position. Based on PPP (Purchasing power parity)we are 4th in the world.

      Stop talking negative about other countries. Do something to make your nation’s name higher.

      I respect your feelings. So I am not hurting your feelings by giving negative comments about Mexico.

      Comment by Dr Sandheep Sugathan | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. The information provided in this article is totally incorrect. According to the Forbes magazine and not to some link that sites Forbes but leads to another Indian site. The facts are right here… http://www.forbes.com/lists/2007/10/07billionaires_The-Worlds-Billionaires_CountryOfCitizen.html
    Click on the top to sort by Citizenship. According to the Forbes right after the US, Germany and Russia have the of most billionaires.

    Comment by Peter Kravets | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. fabulous

    Comment by ishu | May 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. heres the latest list which ….
    http://www.forbes.com/lists/2008/10/billionaires08_The-Worlds-Billionaires_CountryOfCitizen.html

    Comment by satish | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. Yes i too heard that India has most number of Rich peoples.

    Comment by Apostille info | July 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

